One Year Wiser

This past month, I was feeling a bit blue about my birthday. I was stressed and tired and wanted so desperately to be *more*. I had so much anxiety surrounding my ongoing quest to becoming a better person and a better Me.

I don't know exactly why I was being so hard on myself, I just knew that I wasn't there and it depressed me.

It wasn't until this past weekend that I started to really examine what I wanted to be different. The answers I came up with were to know more, to have things figured out, to be further along in life, love and my career. I felt like I was lacking and behind.

But the expectations and standards I was putting on myself were not realistic at all. Would my life be really that much better if I knew more? Could I really be any further along than where I am now? Who was I trailing behind and who is keeping track? No one.

Things are what they are and I can't second guess where I am now and how I got here. I'm still on this journey and I'm thankful that I get to continue it.

Today I turn 28 years old. And I'm exactly where I need to be.